13 Video Game Characters That Are Immortal

Bryce Boltzmann – NeverDead

NeverDead is an action game developed by Rebellion Developments and published by Konami for the PlayStation 3 and the Xbox 360, in the game you play as protagonist Bryce Boltzmann who is a demon hunter cursed with immortality for five centuries by antagonist Astaroth who also killed his wife in front of him causing Bryce to become an alcoholic which is how you find him at the start of the game and you guide him to ultimately to seek revenge. The game uses his immortality as a brunt of many jokes where you see Bryce attaching back his limbs with a sarcastic sigh.

The Nameless One – Planescape: Torment

The Nameless One is the protagonist of Planescape: Torment a role-playing video game developed by Black Isles Studios and published by Interplay in 1999, not much is known about The Nameless One all that is known that he was once a human but has lost himself through time and it doesn’t help that when he is killed and then comes back to life he frequently suffers from memory loss.

Hercules – Disney’s Hercules

SEE ALSO: 13 Video Games With Werewolves

Disney’s Hercules is a video game based on the movie by Disney of the same name, in the game you play as protagonist Hercules who is on a quest to prove himself to his father Zeus in order to regain his immortality and his status of god. The game is a platformer and the player has to navigate various obstacles and finally defeat the final boss Hades.

[smartad id="4" align="center"]

Gravemind – Halo Series

Gravemind or otherwise known as Inferi sententia which is latin for ‘Thinking Dead’, is an antagonist in the Halo 2 and 3 and is the creature in control of all the Flood monsters in the game. The Gravemind is said to be 100,000 years old and manages to escape death by taking control of other beings.

The Chosen Undead – Dark Souls

The Chosen Undead is the player-controlled protagonist in the Dark Soul and its expansion Artorias of the Abyss, the player has complete freedom to customize their own Chosen Undead character by being able to choose their gender, origin, starting class, face and starting equipment.  Good thing you are immortal in Dark Souls as there is a lot of dying.

Vamp – Metal Gear Solid

Vamp is a villain from Metal Gear Solid 2 who is an ex-member of the Dead Cell squad and has vampire-like traits which are due to a character in the game known as Naomi installing nanomachines inside his body that heal any injuries inside his body, he is finally defeated by Snake installing a nanomachine suppressor inside his body.

[smartad id="7" align="center"]

Morrigan Aensland – Darkstalkers

Morrigan Aensland is the protagonist in Capcom’s Darkstalkers fighting game, she made her first appearance in Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors back in 1994. Aensland is a succubus and a princess of the demon realm Makai and one of the most powerful of the Makai family due to her father giving her immense powers as he foresaw that another offspring won’t be available for the next 1200 years.

Shang Tsung – Mortal Kombat

Shang Tsung is a fictional boss in Mortal Kombat series with his first appearance being in the original Mortal Kombat in 1992. He is a powerful warlock and shapeshifter who has the abilities to morph into other characters in the game and retain their abilities and he is noted for always staying young by absorbing the souls of those he has defeated meaning that he can live forever.

Mother Brain – Metroid Series

Metroid Brain is the most prominent antagonist in the Metroid series by Nintendo, Metro Brain has been defeated and presumably killed many times by Samus Aran it still manages to come back it is not known why Mother Brain is immortal but I guess its something to do with Nintendo wanting to make games in the Metroid series.

[smartad id="8" align="center"]

Talion – Middle Earth: Shadow Of Mordor

SEE ALSO: 14 Video Games That Have Crossbows

Talion is the protagonist of action adventure game Middle-Earth: Shadow Of Mordor developed by Monolith Productions and published by Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment. Talion has immortality due to the fact that he is accompanied by the spirit of high elf Celebrimbor who gives him the powers of the new ring to defeat the armies of Sauron.

Agent 47 – Hitman

Agent 47 is the protagonist of the Hitman series released by IO Interactive and Square Enix Europe. Agent 47 was created in order to serve the secret services and has a very prominent barcode on the back of his neck and he actually has five other clones, he is genetically engineered to be the best assassin in the world and can theoretically if he died he can be created again by his creator Dr. Ort-Meyer.

Vincent Valentine – Final Fantasy

Vincent Valentine is a player controlled character from the Final Fantasy series with his first introduction to the series being in Final Fantasy VII. Vincent Valentine was born on October 13th 1950 making him 60 years old however in all the games he is 27 years old due to his immortality he is stuck in time. He also famously confined himself in a coffin for 20 years for his ‘sins’ after a character called Lucrecia’s death after she gave birth to her son.

Kain – Legacy Of Kain

Kain is the protagonist and namesake of action-adventure Legacy Of Kain video game series, he is a vampire antihero who always finds himself in plots to take over the kingdom of Nosgoth and he was famously assassinated but brought back from the dead and he is now on an endless quest of revenge.

To Top